My apologies for being MIA…  my computer has been in the shop and our Internet has been down at the apartment.

Whoever was the first person to put chocolate and peanut butter together, I would really like to meet you.

Jeff spent the first week of February in Georgia for work – - lots and lots of meetings.  He’s kind of a big deal, and I tend to forget it.  After all, he’s just my Jeffery, and I see him work at home (in PJs sometimes!) and not in an office environment where his “status” would be a bit more obvious.  Anyway, I think this was the most meetings he’s ever sat in, and I think I did pretty good at remembering when he was occupied (and considering the time difference, too)… unlike last time.  Ask him about his cell phones, yes two of them, going off in the middle of a meeting the previous time he was in Gainesville.  He leaves his ringer on and yet I get blamed for the “interruption” and impromptu jam session (his personal cell phone has an awesome rock song ring tone).  Right, of course.  That would absolutely be my fault, and I am most definitely the irresponsible one here.  Whatever.

So… Jeffery, the mister straight forward that he is, sure did a lot of dropping hints about buckeyes while in Georgia.  Do you know what these are?   These are like Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups made in your own kitchen.  These are like little drops of heaven.  These are the best things ever!  I got at least one email (more like four) every day from him that at some point referenced these delicious yumminesses, and I learned that they are worth more to him than, well… his health (heard about that salmonella scare down here?).  And so I decided to assume my role as the awesome wife that I am and surprise him with them when he came home that Friday night.

buckeyes1  buckeyes2

buckeyes3  buckeyes4 

Here are the things I learned:

1)  Contrary to what the recipe says, a food processor is not necessary to mix the peanut butter, butter and powered sugar.  A hand mixer will do just fine.

2)  The recipe calls for a ridiculous amount of powered sugar.  I’d venture to say that it could be made with less… I will try next time.

3)  Unless I am missing the magic baker’s touch (which it’s very possible that I am – - I don’t consider myself “gifted” in the kitchen), it is impossible to dip the peanut butter balls in the melted chocolate after only refrigerating them.  Next time I will freeze them.

4)  Melting chocolate chips in the microwave is so easy (when done in small segments as suggested).  I don’t know what they were talking about… double broiler not needed.

So even though my buckeyes looked more like chocolate peanut butter mountain tops rather than buckeyes, they tasted just as good.  So forgoing presentation to save the peanut butter balls (I had to pour chocolate on top rather than dipping the peanut butter in the chocolate) did not hinder the amazing taste in any way.

After the hubby came back, I also purposed a dare to him.  Have you heard of the 25 cent Chicken McNuggets at McD’s?  See I love these things (but don’t eat them much), and I’ve always thought six was too little and ten too much.  So when they came out with this while Jeff was in Georgia, it made my day, week even.  We were going through drive-thru to get a drink, and I dared him to order just one.  Yes, just one, and he does not take dares lightly.  Not only did we get the “just one?” question from the speaker and the lady at the first window, but we also got the “you wanted just one nugget?” sarcastic comment from the lady at the second window when she gave us the bag.   I’m not joking, here’s the proof:

25nugget1

The weekend also included one of the most beautiful weddings I’ve ever been to.  One of my (former) co-workers married the love of her life on February 7th, and it was the cutest thing ever.  Both of their personalities totally shined through and so did their love for each other and the Lord.  Few things warm my heart more than seeing two people the the Lord has brought together celebrate their life and love in marriage.  And this one was no exception, light sabers and Converses (the men forwent traditional dress shoes) included.  I loved it.  Poor Jeff (my Jeff) had to go against his better judgement and “deface” a guitar.  Yes, folks, the guest book was a guitar, and I think it is one of the most cleverest things I have ever seen at a wedding.

  owens

So congrats Jeff and Heather, and many blessings on you in this next chapter of your life!

